Spring 2012 Anime Watchlist

Most of the winter anime had aired around 10 episodes as of this moment. We are thus presented with a new anime chart, the chart for Spring Anime 2012. At first, I thought there are not much I wanna watch but after looking closely, there are actually quite a few interesting titles I should be checking out. One problem I have is that I might have to tone down my anime-watching, since I want to focus on other medias too. During winter, I tried to watch as many as possible and it turns out getting too chaos and hectic, as I’m watching more then I can handle. I should actually wait for a while and watch them at a better time, patience is a virtue, I kept forgetting that simple fact.

So I might want to do this from now onwards. I will download the anime first but I’ll keep them in my computer without watching them yet, then I’ll marathon them when the time is right, probably when the anime is completed (or maybe half-completed) but this will have to depend on the circumstance. While waiting for the right time, I’ll concentrate on other things like my visual novels or light novels or even some old anime, since I will have to ditch Eureka Seven Ao, due to the fact that I haven’t even watch the prequel (likewise with Last Exile previous season). Anyhow, to all the ani-bloggers, I will most probably not be able to comment on episodic reviews for now, I apologize D:

So anyway, here are the list of anime this Spring which I will/might be watching:

Fate/Zero Part 2

The second part of the Fate/Zero TV series. Based on the Fate/Zero novel by Urobuchi Gen and Tyoe-Moon. The story is set 10 years before the events of Fate/Stay Night and chronicles the events of the 4th Holy Grail War. The truth which unfolded behind the battle between Shirou’s foster father, Rin’s father, and the younger Kotomine Kirei, is finally revealed…

This will be my main priority for this Spring, and probably, this will be the only anime this season where I will ignore all those grandiose plans I just made up and watch them weekly, man, talk about contradicting myself, lol. But I guess that’s why Fate/Zero is so good. During Part 1, the anime is on hiatus at a cliffhanger section and now that the hiatus is over, I hope to see more interesting plots, hot-boiled actions, badass characters and more of Rider’s peg talk. Ooh, there’s a recap series too, I need to watch that first since I might have forgotten some important details in the previous 13 episodes.


Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? Of the Dead

The second season of the Kore wa Zombie desu ka? TV series. Ayumu Aikawa is a normal high school boy. One day he is killed by a serial killer and is rebived as a zombie by a necromancer named Eucliwood Hellscythe. He starts to serve Eu as her guard but he happens to deprive the mahou shoujo Haruna of her magic powers. Haruna orders Ayumu to fight against the anti-mahou shoujo system “Megalo” in her place.

What a weird alternative to address a second season, the whole phrase make the last three words look like a typo to me, lol. Aside from the title, I’ll be watching this too. I liked the first season so I definitely won’t pass this out. Here’s hoping to see more magic, zombies, necromancer, cross-dressing, perverts and so on.


Dusk Maiden of Amnesia

A young woman, by some strange occurence, was left to die alone in the former building of Seikyou Academy. Mysteriously, there is one person who can see her in ghost form: Niiya Teiichi, a freshman. Now they both seek to find out the reasoning behind her death, and what could have caused it.

At first, I thought this looks like a copy of “Another,” but the atmospheres look just as scary, if not, scarier then “Another.” This guarantees that Amnesia is a force to be reckon with on it’s own. I don’t feel as much of a thriller-y impact from the synopsis and poster alone weirdly enough though, unlike Another, which was able to deliver fear to me just from the context alone.


Sankarea

Furuya is obsessed with zombies. He collects any figurines, watches any movie, and plays any game with the livind dead, and is only interested in zombie girls. When his cat dies, Furuya begins trying to raise it from the dead using an ancient book of the occult he bought from a shop. But what will happen when he sees the idol of a nearby all-girl’s school walking close to where he conducts his experiment, wishing to die and be reborn as a different person?

Another zombie anime, though this will be more zombie-focused. I had read the manga beforehand and it is indeed a great piece of work. What’s more, the female lead is beautiful, and that’s always a plus in my books.


Hyouka

The story follows a boy named Houtaou who is not assertive about getting involved, but was ordered by his older sister to join the classic literature club (kotenbu). In the club, he gets close to the truth about an incident, involving a female member’s uncle which happened 33 years ago. The “energy-saving” boy is joined by an inquisitive girl in this adolescent mystery.

Two zombies anime, and two mystery anime on my watchlist. This is definitely not a coincidence, and the fact that I’m rather fond of mystery anime partly plays it’s part too I guess. Amnesia is a totally different kinds of “mystery” especially compared to Hyouka though. Amnesia is an anime akin to Another while Hyouka’s settings is just about an ordinary group of students investigating about a certain secret about their school, that’s how I see it. Hyouka’s definitely not passable anyway, since it’s done by the one and only KyoAni! I’m expecting the “case” they are investigating will turn out to be something fairy tale-like instead of thriller ones like Amnesia. Then again, I may had been too obsessed with Key. I totally forgot this is not a Key material, is my obsession for a Little Busters anime adaption that strong?


Accel World

One autumn day in 2046, Haruyuki has an encounter with Kroyikihime, the prettiest girl in his school. For the middle school boy who is often bullied, the meeting changes his life, Haruyuki learns of his existence of the virtual Accel World. In that moment, the lowest of the “school caste” becomes “Burst Linker,” a knight defending a princess.

Pretty typical light-novelish material in my opinion, but I think it looks great nonetheless. The settings doesn’t look original but the visuals and the character designs look great. This, together with Hyouka, will probably be more of a secondary objective though.


Jormungand

Jonah is a child soldier, born in the chaotic conflicts that rage across Africa, his family lost to a war fueled by weapons supplied by the so-called “Merchants of Death”-international arms dealers. Despite Jonah’s hatred of weapons and violence, he employs both extremely well in the service of high-flying arms dealer Koko Hekmatyar and her band of mercernaries. Their journey through the dark underbelly of the world’s arm markets may lead to damnation, but will Jonah one day make his way back to the light. Only one thing is certain: it’s going to be a long, hard road out of Hell…

Jormungand looks like a pretty bad-ass series. The character and the settings reminisce me of Black Lagoon, minus the ships and skimpy clothes of cause. The manga for this will end it seems, just before the anime starts airing, and I believe this is an excellent choice, as it gives anime producers more original materials to work with. I’ll be watching this for some guns-shooting action. Anyway, I hope it will be as epic as Black Lagoon.


Interesting notes:
1. I should not watch too many all at once this season. I need to control myself, remember Kai, patience.
2. I might be watching Queen’s Blade: Rebellion too. I don’t like the series but I might as well watch it since I had completed the first and second season (I wondered how the heck did I survived for so long watching this series..)
3. AKB0048′s premise looks hilarious for some reason, even more so since they are based on real-life pop idol AKB48. I can feel it’s going to be inferior to idolm@ster but I might be watching it too just for the kicks.
4. I haven’t even started Amagami SS+, an anime I said I would watch past season. Gawd.
5. Not going to watch Saki, not because it is bad but because I had totally no idea what the heck was going on when I was watching the previous season. If there is a good time to deny the fact that “You don’t need to know anything to enjoy the anime”, it’s now.

21 thoughts on “Spring 2012 Anime Watchlist

  1. I think I’ll be picking up more shows in this season as compared to Winter’s lineup. Which is good since Spring 2012 falls over my Summer break ^^

    No love for Medaka Box eh? :D

      • Well, I can’t devote too much time on anime. I too have some LN’s I want to finish, and at the same time try to get some VN’s on my Mac, if that’s even humanly possible >.<

        Medaka Box is one of my anticipated shows come Spring. It has an unexpectedly fun storyline based on the manga, with the author being the same guy that wrote the -monogatari series (Bakemono, Nisemono) ^^

        • I at least finished chapter 1 of HakoMaria, lol. I hope I can at least finish all the current chapters of HakoMaria by this month. Why not get a Windows laptop? :D

          Ooh I didn’t know that about the author. I’ll check it out if I have some spare time, most probably when the series is completed though.

  2. I think I’ll be picking up less shows in this season as compared to Winter.
    Of course I’ll watch Fate/Zero Part 2 and my beloved Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? ^^.
    So far I haven’t really informed myself about the anime from the new season, but the shows you’ve pointed out, Hyouka, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia and Accel World sound quite appealing.

    I will probably watch Shining Hearts, Eureka Seven Ao, Nyakuro-san and Queen’s Blade Rebellion. Maybe I take a look at some more titles.

    • Same here ;p I won’t put too much focus on Kore wa Zombie Desu ka, but Fate/Zero is what I will be desperately watching every week.

      They are appealing indeed, I know I got good tastes :D

      Lol, you should I guess ;p Though I wonder about Queen’s Blade…

  3. I’m definitely going to be watching Fate/Zero part 2, since I’ve seen part 1. Other than that, still kind of undecided on all other series. I am interested in Amnesia… kind of. The premise sounds pretty good. I’ll wait for first impressions first though I guess.

    • Well if you’re watching Amnesia, I hope you can blog something about it. I always love your analytical posts in regards to specific anime^^

  4. Sad not to see Sakamichi no Apollon on your list. I’m picking up a lot of shows as always. Hyouka is a bit undecided yet but the animation is just awesome. What i’m definitely going to watch is Sakamichi no Apollon, Tsuritama, Fate/Zero, Sankarea, Amnesia and Kimi to Boku. There will be more but undecided for now.

    • You sure are picking a lot for sure, lol. I had to lessen mine down but it’s no biggie I guess. Kimi to Boku feels skeptical for me, I can rush season 1 now if I want before season 2 starts, but I dunno if it’s worth it.. D:

      • If you really like slice of life kind of anime then it’s a must watch. It’s very unique and i’ve yet to see any anime that is slice of life have this sort of storytelling :D

        I love the background music and the characters. Although you might find the character design a bit weird at first. But you’ll get used to it when you have watch a couple of the episodes.

      • Okay… I’ll give it a watch if I have some time. I want to prioritize on some old anime first, planning to marathon them soon.. veeeryyyyy soon.. I hope. But still, watching a bunch of highschool guys bumbling about is kinda weird D:

        Alright, Kimi to Boku, together with Daily Lives of High School Boys, I’ll try to marathon these two soon.

  5. A couple of the new shows that have caught my eye are Accel World and Shining Hearts. Accel World looks pretty and sounds like it has a decent plot too. Shining Hearts just looks pretty, but if it’s pretty enough, I might watch it regardless of how good the story it.

    • Yes and I like Accel World’s character designs.. putting aside one potato-looking-like-dwaf. I’m still debating over Shining Hearts. I might watch it if I got some time to spare..

  6. Pingback: Anime: A Means To A Marketing End | KaminariAnime

  7. Just a heads up for Amnesia. While the premise is indeed mystery, there was ecchi in the manga and lots of comedy bits thrown in between the plot points. I haven’t finished the manga so I am definitely watching it, however I plan to pick up a lot of things this season. So far I’m definitely watching Amnesia, Phi Brain 2, Fate/Zero, Hyoka, Jormungand, and Ozuma. I’m going to try out Uuchu Kyoudai, Accel World, Zetman, AKB0048 (or the laugh) and Tsuritama.
    Also, isn’t the potato dwarf character the main character in Accel World?

    • Ooh ecchi? I’ll still take a look at it anyway. If it’s ecchi is something like DXD, then I will think about stopping it. And that is indeed a lot, I had avoided Phi Brain like the plague due to some negative impressions. Is it good? I might marathon it one day. AKB48 would make a good laugh for sure lol, it has a pretty ridiculous settings.

      And ARE YOU KIDDING ME!? What an unprotagonist-like character design…

  8. I think Phi brain is pretty interesting, when they show puzzles that are interesting (an actually how to solve them) then it is pretty good. I’m not all entirely sure what the allure of it to me is, but interesting none the less.

    As for potato man, from what I gathered he is supposed to be unfortunate looking and not get along with many in school until he meets the girl who shows him this awesome word where he proves that he is awesome. The underdog kind of story.

    • I heard that their puzzles are very predictable though, oh well, not like my simple brain can perceive so much :D I might take a look at it soon.

      Yes, but they could certainly make him a bit “normal-looking”.. right now, he just looks like a silly mascot.

Leave a Reply

