Rize – Best Girl of GochiUsa

rsz_tedezarisefull1726061

Yes, no witty titles this time.

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?, or GochiUsa for short (Is the Order a Rabbit?) is an anime from Spring 2014 that currently ended, and throughout all the 12 episodes I had watched, Rize strikes my fancy. Actually, to be frank, she, to me, is probably the best character in the series, with Sharo perhaps coming in at a close second.

Why I adore Rize so much though? First of all, she is literally a “moe-fied” Solid Snake.

[HorribleSubs] Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_08.27_[2014.06.30_19.50.37]

Her father is a soldier and Rize’s militaristic behavior, skills and know-how seems to be inherited from him. As early as episode 1, our first “meeting” with Rize, comes from when she was hiding inside a closet, being wary of oncoming suspicious individuals Kokoa. She always carries around a pistol, a combat knife (and perhaps some weapons I might had missed out on). Her way of speech is masculine, and even resembles military soldiers than normal civilians. She’s a “moe-fied” Solid Snake, and the show doesn’t forget to make such references.

[HorribleSubs] Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_08.19_[2014.06.30_20.19.55]

But of cause, other than that, I feel my more apparent reason for liking Rize is rather, the juxtaposition in her character.

Rize’s character may resembles Solid Snake, with physical strength and gun skills ordinary girls wouldn’t normally possess, but that’s just one shade of her character. Beneath the facade, she loves cute things, just like any other girls, but does not actively show it. Despite her militaristic skills, she is indeed just like any other girls her age. I can sympathize slightly with how she wants to be just like the same with the rest of those in her group, and while I find her constant struggles to be “normal” funny and adorable (and especially with the show taking that characterization to a comedic direction), there is also an odd desire to cheer for her as well.

[HorribleSubs] Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_15.42_[2014.06.30_19.50.19]

But perhaps the reason I like Rize so much may also have something to do with the fact that I like tsunderes. Although it’s technically incorrect to classify Rize as a tsundere (she’s not in love with anyone, obviously) the concept of why I like them is almost similar. I always like contrasts, and one reason why I find tsunderes so appealing is that they have a very clear, but contrasting spectrum of love and hate. I find it rather adorable how such characters would be hiding their affections deep down while showing an uncaring facade, and when the facade finally breaks down and her affection starts seeping out, it makes her character that much more charming, rather than characters who are affectionate from the get-go.

And indeed, that concept can be likened to Rize as well. For Rize, she shows a masculine front; a strict, no-nonsense girl who speaks in an almost tomboyish manner, but she also has a softer, feminine side, although she at the same time, also has trouble expressing it. Perhaps it’s because her stern disposition etched so strongly into her persona, which makes her feel embarrassed about admitting her femininity in contrast.

[HorribleSubs] Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_15.44_[2014.06.30_21.01.45]

In any case, I find Rize appealing, due to the juxtaposition between masculinity and femininity, just like how tsunderes seem to clash between love and hate. If you had watched GochiUsa, who is Best Girl for you?

4 thoughts on “Rize – Best Girl of GochiUsa

  1. I love Rize too, she’s so awesome! Between her carrying a gun, loving cute things, looking so perfect in that bartender’s uniform and that purple and white bikini, and she’s kinda tsundere like you mentioned, she’s got everything to make her the best girl.

    Great post man, I enjoyed reading it!

  2. I thought about watching this show, but of course since I was busy and I didn’t think I could write anything about this show. But looking at some of the posts and how cute the girls are, I kind of wished I watched it. I’ll probably watch it one of these days… but yes, I admit that the girls look adorable in this show.

    • That was interesting. Do you watch only the shows you think you could write about? I actually watch quite a lot of anime where I couldn’t find anything constructive to talk about (or maybe I’m not thinking hard enough), but they are still very enjoyable shows nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

