Perception of “New” And “Old” Media

I remembered some time ago, I asked my friend something technical regarding a visual novel, which was released few months back. He answered my question somewhat, and then he added something like “The visual novel’s pretty old already anyway.” This statement was actually controversial now that when I think about it, since I considered the visual novel quite new.

This will be the topic for this post, our various perspectives on “new” and “old” anime/games. Let’s talk about anime first. Speaking from experience, at the time when I still haven’t discover the internet, I only think of classics like Dragon Ball or Sailormoon as old anime, and only ones like Full Metal Alchemist or Shaman King as new anime. Even though I didn’t know what exact year the latter two was released on, I instinctively know they were new, judging from the difference in visuals and content.

Fast forward to the present when I had begun using internet more majorly, at this time, I had already found out about anime charts and had since been using them to check out totally new anime in the new season. Doing this, I was able to catch up with the latest anime and thus, my perspective on “new” and “old” changed. Anime past a season or two (spring, winter, etc..), I considered them old, where as anime in the very latest season I considered them new.

As for visual novels, as I don’t really have the best of knowledge in Japanese language, my perspective of “new” thus depends. If I were to focus on latest untranslated visual novels, then visual novels months ago would certainly be old. If my focus are more on fully translated visual novels instead, then that’s a different picture. For example, I might say Never7 is “new” (since it was fully translated recently), even though the visual novel was actually released ages ago.

I use the same concept from Never7 for some JRPG games, latest example being The Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky. The game was released ages ago but it was only officially localized recently and I see it as a “new” game. For video games like these however, it also depends on my availability of consoles and the date of release on respective ports. As I played most Western games on my PC (whenever Windows port is available), I may consider games like Darksiders II or Prototype 2 new, since the Windows ports were only out “recently”.

In that sense, I think our perspectives of “new” and “old” anime or games depends on the scale of how much each person had been keeping up with respectively. How do you differentiate between “new” and “old” medias?

This entry was posted by Kai.

10 thoughts on “Perception of “New” And “Old” Media

  1. I think in my mind, new anime is anything that came out since I started watching stuff as it aired, which was about Fall 2009, and old anime is anything from before that. It does feel strange to think of Death Note and Haruhi as old anime, though. Maybe that’s where it starts to get blurry, but it wouldn’t feel quite right to call them new.

    • I started looking at charts around 2009-2010 too, so my mindset became almost the same as yours within that time period. Guess that’s what we call borderline, lol.

  2. Well, for me, anything that is in “black and white” is old and anything in color is “new”, but if pushed I’d have to admit I’m not exactly sure – my memory gets kinda fuzzy going back that far.

    ;)

  3. Without basing it on years, I think I differentiate “old” and “new” (in terms of anime) based on what aired before or after what I consider a borderline show, like say, K-On!. I wouldn’t really call it old, but anything before it most likely is. It’s not new either, so anything after is newer…if that made sense, lol :D

    • That’s a good way to distinguish between new and old, though I think in this case, what anime counts as “borderline” may be a bit subjective, since if people ask me, I will definitely say K-ON is new without a doubt.

  4. I guess it sort of depends on the context. If it’s from more than a few seasons ago, then it’s old. If it’s from the last few seasons, then it’s new. If we’re talking about anime as a medium, it’s a whole different story. In that case, it’s old if it came before the early 2000’s and it’s new if it came after.

    • If you count anime before 2000 old, then those are pretty much classics! (at least from my own perspective). That looks like my previous mindset though, with anime like Evangelion, Dragon Ball, Sailor Moon, etc.. I consider old.

Leave a Reply

