SekaTsuyo – Rekindling My Interest in Wrestling

Sekai.de.Ichiban.Tsuyoku.Naritai!.full

I liked wrestling.

I think this is a side of me I didn’t share much and so, the time is now ripe to do so. I liked wrestling. Yes, liked. Past tense.

I’m a late bloomer in almost everything, including wrestling too, but I managed to jump in the WWE bandwagon somehow in the more later parts of my school life. My boisterous group of friends and me liked messing around with various entrances and taunts: from DX’s “crotch chop”, to Triple H’s “water spitting” and most commonly, John Cena’s “You Can’t See Me”. We even amused ourselves with The Rock’s People Elbow, Stone Cold Stunner and various other wrestling moves with my friends on the grass or soft carpets, now that when I think about it, we were indeed a bunch of mischievous rascals. It’s a good thing no one got hurt, although humorously, I remembered one of my friend’s pants got torn around the buttocks area, and he ended up covering his bottoms throughout the rest of the school day. Those were the days.

I’m not sure why I started losing interest in watching WWE, perhaps it’s because my friends had lost interest in them too, or perhaps it’s because I realized everything is scripted via internet usage, or perhaps it’s due to all the cheesy feuds and storylines. Fortunately, veterans like Undertaker, Shawn Michaels, Triple H and so on were still active at this time so that very fact managed to drag my interest a bit longer. However, it doesn’t take long for my interest to fade away in a gradual but complete manner. Since then, I haven’t been watching WWE for years.

[HorribleSubs] Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai! - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_10.31_[2013.12.18_22.31.49]

However, this season, there was a wrestling anime, SekaTsuyo (Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai! in it’s full form or Wanna Be the Strongest in the World, it’s official English translation). It’s an anime about women wrestling – I was skeptical, and it also doesn’t help that when I was watching wrestling, Diva matches were always the least interesting matches for me. This anime however, actually managed to rekindle my interests in wrestling, and after watching for about 6 episodes, I ended up checking up to see if there’s anything new in WWE – turns out that there was a John Cena VS The Rock match in Wrestlemania recently, and I completely missed it. To be frank, I didn’t even know The Rock actually made reappearances in the wrestling industry – that’s how disjointed I’m with WWE. Additionally, I also watched a few other matches I missed out on this year: CM Punk VS Undertaker (Wrestlemania 29), CM Punk VS Brock Lesnar (Summerslam 2013), Randy Orton VS Daniel Bryan (Hell in a Cell 2013), and so on.

[HorribleSubs] Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai! - 02 [720p].mkv_snapshot_19.51_[2013.12.17_22.53.16]

There is just some unexplainable beauty and gratification in SekaTsuyo; the tension, thrills and excitement felt from the wrestling matches is exhilarating. All the moves the wrestlers used are very realistic too, in fact, I can even identified a few moves, for example, the Boston crab-also mainly used by Jericho as a finisher called Wall of Jericho. There’s also STF, which is also a submission move frequently used by Cena (a slight variation to the contrary though as Cena’s is an STS even though the signature move’s officially called STF).

[HorribleSubs] Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai! - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.06_[2013.12.17_23.08.54]

There’s also one main difference, in the anime, the matches weren’t scripted. All the cheers, the matches and the struggles feel more direct and straightforward – the showings of sportsmanship feels more genuine. Of cause, I’m not trying to say real WWE is totally fake, but I can’t help but feel a bit dubious after knowing they are scripted. Winners were decided beforehand, and they are even jobbers – greenhorn wrestlers whose job is to purposely lose to make the winner looks stronger. The wrestlers are akin to actors. Especially with this element of predetermined outcomes, WWE is more closer to being entertainment, then it is a competition. In contrast, as victors aren’t decided beforehand in SekaTsuyo, the anime’s rendition of wrestling is more closer to being a competition.

[HorribleSubs] Sekai de Ichiban Tsuyoku Naritai! - 06 [720p].mkv_snapshot_14.27_[2013.12.17_23.04.39]

SekaTsuyo’s intensifying rendition of wrestling brings me back to the ignorant days of when I didn’t know the true face of wrestling, and even interested me enough to watch some wrestling matches, something I haven’t been doing for nearly half a decade. If I want to watch powerful matches between men, I guess I can watch WWE and if I want to watch women wrestling (with awesome fanservices to boot, there I admitted it), there’s SekaTsuyo for my needs now, since I had never been interested in real diva matches.

I wonder what will happen if SekaTsuyo has a bras and panties match.

This entry was posted by Kai.

16 thoughts on “SekaTsuyo – Rekindling My Interest in Wrestling

  1. looks like a tasty anime, I already have it waiting on my hdd ^^
    I hope no one get’s hurt too badly, though,I hate these leg bending moves *ouch*

    I watched wrestling in the good old times of WWF with the Hulkster XD

    Two years ago I watched wrestling again, WWE matches, but now I can’t watch this soap opera without feeling silly.
    The matches also seemed unfairer than in earlier days, like keep hitting an injury or not obeying the rules at all.
    It’s a circus and no sport.

    • Yes yes, go watch it. The anime’s awesome, exciting… and is indeed “tasty”.

      Actually, there’s a lot of submission moves in this anime, lol. But some other moves are of cause there too, like the awesome tombstone xD

      Ahh indeed, those were the days. It also feels more thrilling not knowing that it’s scripted. The Rock was probably one of the most popular topic for me though when I just started jumping into the wrestling bandwagon.

      Indeed, and also I can’t help but facepalm when some other wrestler come up distracting the match, causing someone in the match to lose even though he should had won, quite a repeative tactic.

      It’s more entertainment then competition aforementioned, and with WWE usually being regarded as sports entertainment, and WWE with it’s full name “World Wrestling Entertainment”, it’s quite fitting.

      But even though I said all that, there are a few good matches this year, from the very little I had watched that is.

  2. Only TNA Knockouts matches were able to make women matches intense and awe inspiring…that is until recently when the roster had dwindled severely. The Knockouts Division is on full life support now.

    The reason I have stuck with wrestling for years is because no matter how scripted it is, no matter how bad the storylines can sometimes get, no matter how much the WWE wants to vainly convince today’s fans that John Cena’s one of the all-time greats (He’s good, but he’s no all-time great), there will ALWAYS be those rare moments that fill my heart with joy and remind me why I love wrestling so much. It ain’t easy but it can be done.

    Ah, the good old days when we were rascals performing Stunners and piledrivers on pillows and breaking beds using Dude Love’s Double Arm DDT.

    One thing Sekatsuyo will make crystal clear to people who have never seen wrestling before is…they will never, E-E-E-E-EEEEEEEEEVVVVEEEER forget the Boston Crab…AGAIHN-uh!

    • As someone who haven’t watch wrestling for half a a decade, I’ll take your word for it xD Indeed, there are a few good matches this year, and with Batista back (also one of my favorite wrestlers), things seem *somewhat* to be proceeding in a positive turn. As contrast to your posts though, I watched all these wrestling matches without knowing their storylines, lol. Not sure if I even want to follow their storylines either since as you said it, WWE’s storytelling is bad.

      We were worse, we actually wrestled with real people, lol. We could never pull out moves like the piledriver or chokeslam though, due to obvious reasons.

      Bet Jericho will be happy, maybe he’s watching this anime too >_>

  3. watching sekatsuyo is like watching the storytelling, you don’t see the backstage how they script the match, so it is ok, one thing I didn’t like was they always did the boston crab, but as a wrestling fan I enjoyed the anime

    • Perhaps the reasons behind the matches may be scripted, but the matches themselves don’t seem scripted, actually, I see no signs of it. Yea, mostly the beginning parts of the show but I like the show nonetheless.

  4. Pingback: ABC Award | deluscar

  5. Hallo zusammen ich habe den Anime heute erst gesehen und fand ihn klasse.
    Das hat mich auch an die alten Zeiten WWF erinnert wo es noch um ringen geht und nicht so wie heute von der WWE eine Seifenoper daraus gemacht haben die haben den Sport ins lächerliche gezogen so wie es in South Park gezeigt wird.

    Nun ja wer möchte den nicht mit den heißen Frauen kämpfen. Vor allem lässt es Männer herzen höher schlagen wenn Frauen mit einander kämpfen.
    Wer D.O.A. kennt hat sich auch bestimmt an die eine blonde Kämpferin erinnert. Die blonde Frau (Weltmeisterin) die im Anime zu sehen ist, sie hat mich an die Spieler Charaktere erinnert wegen dem Outfit.
    So noch mal zurück zum Anime, die Story ist klasse und sollte weiter gehen.

  6. Pingback: The Impact they had on Kai | deluscar

  7. Pingback: My History with Martial Arts Films | The Art of Kaijutsu

Leave a Reply

