12 Favorite Moments in 2013

Coffee-Kizoku.full.1379362

This year, I’m not joining the 12 Days of Xmas posts as you can see, but I decided to list down 12 of my most memorable moments in 2013. You can also treat this as a very compact version of 12 Days of Xmas, where I talked about my favorite series this year compiled in one post. Please note that despite being numbered, the entries aren’t in a consecutive order.

(Warning: Some might contain spoilers. Read at your own risk.)

[gg]_Shingeki_no_Kyojin_-_04_[36EF8BD0].mkv_snapshot_22.20_[2013.12.25_13.05.50]

1. Shingeki no Kyojin

Despite the apparent issues behind Shingeki no Kyojin, I like the show. Additionally, the pacing of the show doesn’t bother me just as much, probably because I marathoned it. If I were to pick a favorite scene, ironically, it’s not titans whamming against each other – it’s the scene where Eren faced off against the Colossal Titan for a second time. After their town is destroyed, their loved ones killed, Eren, Mikasa, Armin started proper training to fight against the titans – for five years. This scene, after five years of arduous training, marks the true beginning of the show where Eren actually had the skills, equipment and experience to face off against these monstrous titans, as compared to the beginning where Eren and his families and friends got brutally humiliated, tortured, murdered and even devoured.
 
 
[HorribleSubs] Fate Kaleid Liner PRISMA ILYA - 07 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.57_[2013.12.25_13.40.07]

2. Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya

Yuri. Who wouldn’t love them? I know I do. While my Yuri goggles aren’t as strong as OG, but there are a number of “yuri-potential” scenes that I came across in this alternate universe of Fate/Stay Night. There are two, to be specific – one involves Illya almost close to molesting Miyu in maid outfit, another one is towards the end, where Miyu completely dropped all of her headstrong outer self and started getting clingy and dere dere over Illya. I would even say obsessed too. Can’t you see how cute, adorable and “yurific” they are?
 
 
watamote

3. Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!

From the start to the very end, Watamote is a show I don’t know if I should laugh or cry. But if there’s one scene that is an exception, it’s when during the school festival when Tomoki got isolated as usual, her senpai, in a mascot costume, approached her, handed Tomoki a balloon and even gave her a loving hug. Tomoki had been cringeworthy to see, but I’m actually very happy to see such a heartwarming and bittersweet scene. Tomoki’s “despair run” at the end is close, but I would say that very heartwarming scene is my favorite scene in Watamote.
 
 
To.Aru.Majutsu.no.Index.full.1529362

4. Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S

The Index universe. This might be surprising coming from a show like this, but Index’s fight scenes are one of my favorites. This favorism depends though – first, it has to be on the science side, I feel the mixture behind sci-fi theories and supernatural combat is a pretty refreshing mix. In contrast, the magic side is a bit weak to me in this regard. Second – less falcon punching! And Misaka Mikoto’s fight scenes with ITEM in the facility embodied all these criteria. I also like how it’s not a straight all-out brawl – as the famed Railgun has to face several strong opponents at once, the later parts of the battle became more akin to a chase between cat and mouse. Thrilling, and of cause, exciting.
 
 
[Anime-Koi] Outbreak Company - 06 [h264-720p][882E652E].mkv_snapshot_11.36_[2013.12.25_13.47.43]

5. Outbreak Company

Despite the blatant cliches and character archetypes, this show delivers, especially on the entertainment department. Outbreak Company, making good use of it’s ridiculous settings, create a number relevant humors that are incredibly comedic. One that of note, is it’s use of parodies and references. Despite the difference in foundation and settings, I would even go as far as to say that the show’s parodies are akin to Gintama’s. Only difference is that Gintama seems to parody on older shows while Outbreak Company parodies on newer ones – resulting in very refreshing, but humorous and awesome outcomes. My favorite scene (despite that it’s concise) is it’s parody on Kuroko no Basuke – the misdirection scene during the soccer match between the drawfs and the elves. Did I mention they even parodied Shingeki no Kyojin?
 
 
[HorribleSubs] Little Busters! Refrain - 11 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.07_[2013.12.25_13.50.37]

6. Little Busters!: Refrain

When Riki managed to reunite the all the old members of the Little Busters, the world is at it’s end, and even when the world is ending, the Little Busters gang were playing, having fun and doing the things they do best until their very last moments, and what better then to play baseball-as Kyousuke said, it was a fitting end for Little Busters. It was such a heartwarming scene, the scene also showed how matured and strong Riki had become, and whatever seemingly tyrannical and atrocious acts Kyousuke had done to make Riki and Rin stronger, it was definitely not in vain. That scene represents everything why Little Busters is so great – friendship, faith, resolve, strength, happiness – an array of different emotions mix together to form one bittersweet conclusion.
 
 
Gin no Saji

7. Gin no Saji

Little did I know that an anime like Gin no Saji about farming and livestock could turn into one of my favorite anime in 2013. For Hachiken, Gin no Saji is coming-of-age story, where in an educational environment quite different from ones he was accustomed to, while struggling to discover himself a dream, as compared to the other students of the agriculture school where their dreams were already crystal clear. There’s also a certain underlying themes behind the show’s premise, most significantly – animal cruelty and consumption. I also like how the anime didn’t sugarcoat things – and exposes the realistic and even brutal workings of livestock farming. I’ll definitely be back for the eventual second cour.
 
 
284102

8. Asura’s Wrath

As someone who watched anime/manga/games/visual novels/light novels – something I like to call my pentalogy of otaku hobbies, my favorite moments in 2013 doesn’t just restrict to just anime. No, I swear it’s not because I can’t think of anything else to write about anime. As for my gaming moments of 2013, one of them was definitely picking up Asura’s Wrath. While it’s more of an experimental game, I had fun with it’s incredibly unique gameplay system, and over-the-top executions. My favorite moment in the game? This – A very, very flashy boss fight with a classical orchestrated music “From the New World 4th movement” in the background. If that’s not epic, I don’t know what is.
 
 
games_hdwallpaper_xenoblade-chronicles-floating-rocks-at-night_81620

9. Xenoblade Chronicles

Of cause, when I talked about gaming moments of 2013, I can’t leave out Xenoblade Chronicles which I played earlier this year. Although jumping pretty late in the Xenoblade bandwagon, I can see why Xenoblade had such a good reception. The graphics, music, story, characters, gameplay, I can’t find a single thing to complain about. It was just such a great game – Xenoblade Chronicles had officially joined my list of all-time favorite games.
 
 
Amane

10. Grisaia no Kajitsu

Grisaia no Kajitsu is a visual novel I hoped it actually had more actions in it. The fault lies with me however, since I had a preconceived expectation that this visual novel would feature lots of great, flashy yet realistic actions after seeing a number of action CGs from various imageboards, and I never knew those CGs are from Grisaia’s later sequels. Despite that fact though, there is one very memorable scene, and it is, ironically, a bad end in Amane’s route. As compared to the overly-positive good route, I can really feel the pain and sensations of the characters in her bad route. It just goes to show that sometimes, going for bad ends is just as important in regards to overall enjoyment and fulfillment from playing a visual novel.
 
 
hachiman

11. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru

Any scenes involving Hachiman.
 
 
[HorribleSubs] Oreimo S2 - 16 [720p].mkv_snapshot_20.59_[2013.12.25_13.10.29]

12. Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai

Marriage scene BWAHAHA
 
 
Chuunibyo.Demo.Koi.ga.Shitai!.full

For the readers, any favorite moments of anime this year you would like to share? And also, happy holidays everyone, and have a Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted by Kai.

17 thoughts on “12 Favorite Moments in 2013

  1. And just when I thought I’d seen the last of Oreimo…oh well!

    I’m pretty sure my favorite moment involves Attack on Titan…but beyond the anime! From the OP memes to it just selling like buckets, it was a pretty big, big series.

    • I’ll try churning up some Oreimo stuffs just when everyone thought they were over with it.. xD

      Ahh, I remember Marrow talking about it. Admittedly, I never was interested in fanmade videos like those but I’ll have a look around. Indeed, I’m really looking forward to the second season, and likewise, I’m gonna marathon it instead of watching it in a week-by-week basis.

  2. Ironically, it seems that we somewhat agree with Ore no Imouto, Illya and Little Busters as I mentioned it on my lists. But aside from that, I hope you had a fun time during Christmas.

  3. Shingeki no Kyojin was cool, even though it lost drive somewhere in the middle, a second season would be great.

    I liked that Illya’s anime was different from what I expected, I didn’t only get cute magical girls and naughty humor also the action was rather epic.

    After several tweets of you I also started playing Grisaia, I haven’t reached a single sex scene so far, but is so much fun to play it with all the charming weirdos. The music makes me happy and the visual are really pretty.

    mhh my aninme moments? No idea.I started to watch the old Space Battleship Yamato anime, it’s quite awesome considering it’s age, the music is really nice and the story is very interesting.

    • With how popular it is, I think a second season’s arriving any minute, lol. Also, the author of Shingeki no Kyojin plans to end the manga at around 20 volumes. With a planned conclusion, I think the anime will also have a better time with the script and story planning too.

      Indeed the actions, one in particular – their fight against Saber Alter. The yuri scenes are still ftw though xD

      Nice to see you’re enjoying it as well^^ Will be interested to hear your thoughts when you finished a heroine’s route or something.

      Didn’t that show has a remake recently?

      • Good to know that Shingeki no Kyojin will have a planned end, no fan of dragged stories haha
        Yes,the new Yamato is more modern in storytellinhand also really exciting to watch with state of the art animations.

Leave a Reply

