The Inspector Green Tag

sakuratrick

So I was tagged by Nick-blogger of Anime Corps to do The Inspector Green Tag-essentially a sort of questionnaire, to which I’m definitely no newcomer of, as I did my fair share of them, but of cause, I’m still more than welcome to do more. Speaking of questions, I had been active on ask.fm lately, reviving my account from the depths of hell, so feel free to hit me some questions there too. (self-advertising ftw)

Still, I don’t really know where The Inspector Green Tag came from. But there’s an “Inspector” and a “Green” in the phrase, so I’ll start answering mine after an obligatory Detective Miku picture.

Interrogated!

Interrogated!

1. When was the last time you went to a store containing anime?
Does a random DVD shop with a small anime segment in it counts? Other than that, no, I haven’t been visiting one for a long time. Doesn’t help that there are close to none of those shops here in my town. I got most of what I need through online shopping, anyway.

2. Do you usually watch anime online? On what website?
Rarely. Most of the time, I prefer to download it first, since there’s nothing more frustrating than having lags or even disconnections when you’re halfway through an anime episode. I do like watching anime shorts online however, and for the life of me, I can’t remember what websites I use since it’s mostly just random googling (I don’t use streaming sites like CR or Hulu).

3. First Japanese word you learned from an anime?
Baka..?

demotivational poster

4. Best animation style in your opinion?
This is a tough one. I think I choose Shaft for their unique visual styles, animations, angles and perspectives (dat neck twists). Shaft’s animation styles always carry a lot of abstract symbolism, and fits in very naturally with the Monogatari series. Their other works-predominantly Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei and Hidamari Sketch looks great too! Shaft’s unique styles especially fit well with the former’s over-the-top ambiance. In fact, Shaft’s animation styles work especially well for adaptions of titles which we might originally assumed impossible to adapt. One of my favorite light novels-HakoMari, is a title I feel only Shaft could do justice with it, if it will ever going to have an anime adaption, that is.

Besides Shaft, studios like ufotable and P.A. Works fought a close battle. Ufotable’s Fate/Zero, Kara no Kyoukai, and of cause, the recently first cour of UBW are all excellent. While the exciting fluid action-packed scenes are definitely the highlight, the way ufotable sometimes utilized dynamic animations are also noteworthy. If we were to include “art” in the discussion, I think P.A. Works might even takes the cake for their astounding backgrounds. I especially love the attention they pulled off when they were working with the backgrounds. Most of the anime they worked on looks great, but Nagi no Asukara remains my favorite P.A. Works anime visually. This scene of Nagi no Asukara is still extremely memorable for me even now, due to how visually breathtaking it is (see below).

NaginoAsukara

In fact.. hell, here’s a screenshot of when I searched “Nagi no Asukara background” on google image. Pretty, huh?

5. Best anime pet?
I’m going to go with Plue of Fairy Tail/Rave, due to the very fact that you can’t even distinguish what kind of animal he is, not even the characters WITHIN the shows (Natsu calls him a dog, but I don’t buy it).

6. What is the longest anime you’ve ever watched?
One Piece. According to my MAL (which I’m not sure if it’s even updated at this point), the last I watched was at the 533rd episode.. and I’m actually behind a hundred episodes or two. In other good news, at least Naruto’s manga ended, though the anime’s doing a wonderful job in filler wonderland at the moment. I think I’m also hitting near 300 episodes for Gintama from all seasons combined-and still loving it to bits.

7. What is the shortest anime you’ve ever watched?
Not sure. Episodes-wise, I consider most 10+ episodes to be short. Though I did watch a few anime shorts like Onee-chan Kita and Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san which are around 3 minutes per episode. Mangaka-san to Assistant-san to’s another one I watched which is around 10+mins per episode.

8: What is your Favorite anime couple?
I would had picked Syaoran X Sakura before, but nowadays, I’m just more keen on yuri couples. Haruka X Yuu (Sakura Trick) definitely takes the crown as the most definitive yuri couple from the recent ones I came across. That, and Rize X Syaro of GochiUsa deserves a noteworthy mention. Of cause, if we’re talking about yuri couple, I can’t not mention Nico X Maki, another couple I ship like mad:-

That’s about it from me. As per The Inspector Green Tag’s tradition, here are the three people I tag:
Silvachief
Lazarinth
OG

From what I had checked from some past entries of The Inspector Green Tag, the same questions are carried on, so just answer the same questions I already answered myself in this post. To make it easier, here are them once again for easier reference (remember to tag 3 other people once you’re done):

1. When was the last time you went to a store containing anime?
2. Do you usually watch anime online? On what website?
3. First Japanese word you learned from an anime?
4. Best animation style in your opinion?
5. Best anime pet?
6. What is the longest anime you’ve ever watched?
7. What is the shortest anime you’ve ever watched?
8: What is your Favorite anime couple?

Alright, have fun guys!

hachiman

This entry was posted by Kai.

9 thoughts on “The Inspector Green Tag

  1. Hahaha, I’m pretty sure “Baka” is the first word most of people learned from watching anime.

    I personally enjoy a lot of P.A. Works anime solely for its artwork. Even if they have horrible and confusing storyline such as Glasslip, I still watch them. They always make good background scenery and makes me think that Japan is a beautiful country. Interestingly though, I actually enjoy SHIROBAKO for its content, but I don’t see the same level of artwork in it as I do in other P.A. Works series.

    • It’s easy to remember, easy to say, and easy to use it in a phrase too :p

      Yea, I like Glasslip’s backgrounds too, but still can’t hold a candle to Nagi no Asukara. P.A. Works always had a knack for making simple, serene backgrounds look best. From the little I had seen, their simple backgrounds had always transcended their original simple focus. In Glasslip/Tari Tari/Hanasaku Iroha, their backgrounds gave them an impression of warmth, while anime like Another, especially certain screenshots, is able to instill mystery and anxiety with similar simple backgrounds, it’s brilliant. In Nagi no Asukara, the focus on water backgrounds feel extremely relaxing, immersing and almost magical.

      I haven’t watch Shirobako, however. Probably going to start soon :p

  2. Pingback: The Inspector Green Tag | The Geek Clinic

  3. Inner-thoughts when reading the end of this questionnaire; “Hah, who’s he going to tag next? Silvachief; well of course. Lazarinth; hah, what a stupid name… wait a minute… that’s me! Crap, I’m two days off, I better get to work!”

  4. Pingback: The Inspector Green Tag Questionnaire | Fantasy and Anime

  5. Pingback: The Inspector Green Tag | The Yuri Nation

  6. Great responses Kai old bean. I see you are one who has been mesmerized by the NicoMaki experience.
    As much as I want to punch the SHAFT studio in the groin I cannot deny how much I dig their style.
    Plue is an awesome “carrot-nosed dog”.
    So there are no anime shops in your neck of the woods either eh? Pity.
    Three cheers for downloading over streaming!

    • Of cause, who wouldn’t be mesmerized? :p
      Lol, yea. Sometimes the animations can get just slightly irritating, admittedly.
      And indeed for Plue.
      And yea, lol. Sad place we live in
      Indeed for downloading :p

Leave a Reply

