OreGairu Zoku To The “Casual Observer”

[Commie] Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Zoku - My Teenage RomCom SNAFU TOO! - 01 [E3B1108A].mkv_snapshot_00.57_[2015.05.13_05.56.48]

I will be the first to admit-I’m poor at noticing character’s subtleties, which is a big part of why I rarely talk about OreGairu if any of you noticed, though I had my fill of it just reading people’s analysis of each episodes from reddits, MAL and blogs. Of course, I like the show though, and if anything, OreGairu Zoku had been stellar each and every single week.

I started watching the first season back when it aired on 2013, and while I like it, I personally think marathoning kinda ruined it for me. I didn’t have time to digest every characterizations properly. Also, this may be me, I always felt guys like Guy (pun unintended) and Frog-kun were over-analyzing the characters in the show. At times, it felt like there was a discrepancy in perspectives between me and the fandom.

Hachiman and Hayama's interactions is one of the best part of the show.

Batman v Superman… Think I just made this joke in twitter, but jokes aside, Hachiman and Hayama’s interactions is one of the best part of the show.

Unfortunately, that still hasn’t changed much in OreGairu Zoku, but my perspective improves a lot, it took me awhile but I finally noticed things, as compared to when I was just glancing everything over the surface like I did with season one. It feels great just to be able to follow the gradual character development each week and checking up the analyses of them, it’s honestly something I wouldn’t be able to do if I were marathoning-so that certainly helps too.

Also, each episodes/arcs are close to Sagami-level in season 1 so in terms of drama and feels. Also characterizations had a lesser subtle approach but now, they feel more exposed, and at the same time, still brilliantly concealed several layers of characterizations not easily noticeable at first glance. It just seems like OreGairu Zoku bolstered the characterizations, or at least the important ones, while still managed to possess the same flair as the previous season by keeping things subtle.

Indeed, there is an immense change in atmosphere from season one. I was lurking at Random Curiosity the other day, and while this is from an impression of an older episode-Zanibas described it perfectly from said post:

“it has been a treat to see Oregairu slowly deepen its conflicts from petty romantic comedy to a complex social web of lies and fears.”

[Commie] Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Zoku - My Teenage RomCom SNAFU TOO! - 02 [620EFB51].mkv_snapshot_19.26_[2015.05.13_06.09.03]

OreGairu as a series evolved from just a deconstruction of romance comedy to genuine, intensifying drama. And great drama it is, especially considering how well-written the characters are (dat “batman” segment in episode 2). I think last but not least, it also helps that the series had already got most of the introductory episodes out of the way in season one-Characters were introduced, and we are shown their personalities, interactions and philosophies on life. Season two took the formulae developed there, and dissects the characterizations even further-there are a lot of plot points to consider, Hachiman’s self-sacrificing altitude, and how the other characters are actually feeling for him, and how Hachiman rejects change and how Yukino acts as the foil to that philosophy of Hachiman. Aforementioned, OreGairu Zoku no longer play these characterizations subtle-all these character flaws are exceedingly emphasized; and quite frankly, I’m just barely scratching the surface here-I really appreciate the depth emanated from the show.

[Commie] Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Zoku - My Teenage RomCom SNAFU TOO! - 05v2 [E3D61B82].mkv_snapshot_05.47_[2015.05.13_06.20.56]

So yeah, despite being just a “casual observer”, I like OreGairu, even more so than before. I still need to check how OreGairu Zoku ends, but I’m seriously considering adding the series to my favorite list of anime. What do you think of OreGairu Zoku so far?

Oh, before I end this post…

Komachi Best Imouto

Komachi Best Imouto

_______

P.S: Here’s a plug-Guy over at Geekorner wrote great notes/analyses on each episodes for the show, so go check them out if you haven’t already.

This entry was posted by Kai.

5 thoughts on “OreGairu Zoku To The “Casual Observer”

  1. When you mentioned Batman, it made me think of this tweet from a couple days ago.

    Anyways, good post! I’m really enjoying this season a lot too, it feels a lot more dramatic than season 1, then again I can’t remember much from S1 as I only watched it when it aired. I personally like the characters in this anime as there is more depth to them than the usual run of the mill characters. This isn’t just an anime you watch to enjoy, it does take some thinking to understand the finer points of it too. I wouldn’t want to review this one as I don’t think I could bring all the details to light, but I do enjoy reading well written posts about it.

    Sorry I shouldn’t be leaving walls of text as a comment. Good post, I enjoyed reading it!

    • They could legitimately add “drama” and “psychological” to the series now, lol. Season one lacked a bit in the drama department but it showed what it could had actually done in the Sagami arc, and now that all the introductions are out of the way, it paved the way for all the drama. I knew season two is something special as early as episode 2. What I like about the characters is that they are written in a way that you can actually get their characterizations and motivations, but still interpretative enough as the anime doesn’t show you everything in regards to their characterizations. I seen people read the LNs and actually think Hachiman gave a different impression than how he is shown in anime, not sure exactly how though since I haven’t read it myself.

      Yea, reviews or even writing posts about it is tricky, but I enjoy reading analyses by other people.

      No problem. In fact, seeing as how your comment went to spam, you should probably comment here more.

  2. I think I made the wrong decision to marathon the latter episodes in season 1 two years ago. But I can honestly say that I really enjoyed it. Flash forward to present and it surprises me how I’m no longer that inclined towards Hachiman’s way of thinking. But anyway, that’s just me talking…

    I’m reading the first volume of the LN right now to supplement what I had already ‘forgotten’ from the first season. It’s interesting how serious the story has now become in season 2.

    • I made the wrong decision to marathon the whole show in one go, lol. It was really difficult to notice all the subtleties, when everyone was comparing Hachiman to Batman, I was like “WHAT?”, but I totally see it now. Hachiman’s suffering was really subtle too, but emphasized on season 2. It’s easy to identify with Hachiman’s mindset so I can see where you’re coming from.

      Hope you’re enjoying the read^^ And it’s a great transition for me, I like the series so much more now because of the transition and development from season 1.

  3. Pingback: Kai’s Favorite Anime of 2015 | deluscar

Leave a Reply

