Vocaloid – Hatsune Miku (Tell Your World Ver) by GSC

miku

Hatsune Miku (初音ミク) is a Japanese VOCALOID developed and distributed by Crypton Future Media, Inc., and was initially released in August 2007 for the VOCALOID2 engine. She is part of the Character Vocal Series and is a Character Voice Vocaloid. There has since been numerous installments such as additional voice banks dubbed ‘Append’, as well as an upgrade to the VOCALOID3 engine, which includes her long awaited English vocal release. She was the first release for Crypton’s VOCALOID Character Vocal Series, the third Japanese VOCALOID, and the seventh VOCALOID to have been created overall. She is considered the most popular and well known VOCALOID and the first to become a pop idol.

I bought this Miku figure sometime last year and only just unboxed the figure recently. Accidentally found the figure while browsing amiami randomly one day, I was like “I need this… NOW”.

miku2

miku1

miku3

The box is pretty tall and has the same color scheme as Miku’s outfit, even the inside of the box spot the same color and design as well. Overall, it just looks kinda messy and chaotic to be honest.

miku4

miku6

There are no accessories and nothing to assembly, she’s ready to be displayed as soon as you took her out of the box. Donning on her Tell Your World outfit, she wears an outfit similar to her original design, what with the sleeveless vest, tie, black mini skirt and socks, but the most striking part of this outfit is definitely said vest, which is actually a colored pattern variant instead of the usual grey color. The best part about this figure is definitely the extremely dynamic pose, and super detailed hair movements to go along with it.

miku8

As far as painting job goes, I believe it’s pretty much flawless. Though one problem I had with the figure is that there seem to be some weird adhesive(?) sticking out a little on the parts where the hair interlocks. Obviously, I couldn’t get it out and it’s kinda bothering me to no end. I didn’t want to mess around with it too much too because as good as all the hair strands look, they seem fragile as fuck.

miku12

Anyway, I love all the details given to the vest, which is undoubtedly the second most details given to any part of the figure (the most is the hair, obviously). The various color patterns which is probably hell to paint, and the tie slightly tilted fitting the figure’s pose perfectly. There seem to be a pink clip on her tie, which is also something perfectly recreated on the figure if you notice the two pink lines here. The pair of frilly wristbands adds a nice touch to the figure overall.

miku13

While the biggest appeal of this figure is the dynamic pose, the skirt and belt is sculpted in the way to perfectly complement that pose, and overall gives a nice dynamic impression of being blown by a breeze. The hair strands already did a fine job but this makes it look even better.

Speaking of hair, I think you can notice easily in this picture here, one of the hair strand twirled around Miku’s leg while the other one got inside the belt. If you recall, on the upper part of the figure, Miku is grabbing a handful of hair too. It’s detailed, yes but I wouldn’t dare say it’s realistic (not sure if hair can twirl around the leg so perfectly in real life), but if anything, the hair is extremely interactive with the figure, which is another thing I really like about it.

miku17

I know I’m beating a dead horse at this rate, but you know how I usually prefer simple stands as compared to ones like these. Also, while the colored pattern looks good, I feel like at this point, they are just overselling this aspect of the figure. For one, the whole box already has the same pattern, in addition to the vest and stand. The socket/peg design is interesting though in the way that they are on a plastic protrusion, and actually fit the figure in snugly.

miku25

miku24

Sometimes though, when I look at this figure, I also can’t help but feel like it looks extremely busy. While they aren’t much individually, I guess the combination of the colorful vest, stand and the hair movements did some collective damage.

miku18

Nonetheless, I do like this figure, I really do, but seeing it in person, I don’t know why but feel like she looks slightly lackluster compared to online pictures. I mean seeing this figure online “wow-ed” me into getting her almost immediately without a second thought, and when I actually got her in physical form, she seems just a little less amazing in contrast.

Funnily enough, after I got this figure, I stumbled into the almost same situation with another upcoming release of Miku’s figure in her orange blossom outfit, which looks absolutely amazing to be honest, but may or may not be as great if I actually see the figure in person.

Ah well, for now I’ll just enjoy mine.

This entry was posted by Kai.

6 thoughts on “Vocaloid – Hatsune Miku (Tell Your World Ver) by GSC

  1. So you finally took her out of the box!

    The hair twirling around Miku prolly isn’t realistic, but as you said it, it does provide that dynamic feel to the figure given that the figure itself lacks prop and stuff. I always like figures like this: not much accessories and the pose of the figure itself is sufficient enough. Just like my GSC Kurisu figure.

    The figure there has more of a sexy look compared to the cute look on the illustration you posted though.

    • Oh you still remember I have this figure? :p

      The GSC Kurisu figure is AWESOME, till this day, remains my favorite figure in my collection, even though I have other even more flashier, detailed figures.

      It’s not like the costume dictates Miku’s personality :p I mean, in some cases they do, but not every outfits I guess.

  2. The figure looks very nice, a cute face, a dynamic pose and an attractive outfit, I love these stockings :D
    Haha and her skirt is super short. Somehow I think that her outfit here looks a bit more realistic than her usual outfit, which is nice since it sets her apart of the previous… nearly 200? figures. I’m no what you would call a Miku fan, but I always liked her twintail hairstyle and in this figure adaption it is done extremely detailed, it’s a cool figure.

    Hopefully that doesn’t sound rude, but have you thought about using a desk lamp to highlight the figure a bit more?

    • This has always been one of my more favorite Miku outfits so it’s one of the reason why I want to buy. I also love the Deep Sea Girl outfit and have been wanting to buy that figure as well-now THAT is a thing of beauty. Unfortunately, it’s just too big though, don’t think I have the space for it, lol.

      I don’t have a desk lamp and I’m not much of a figure photographer anyway, just some half-decent photo is okay with me, lol. Probably a bad mindset since I’m actually doing figure posts on my blog. Then again, this one will be one of my few last ones before I stopped collecting figures for good though.

  3. Pingback: Impulse Buying with Figures | wieselhead

Leave a Reply

