Flying Witch and it’s Animals

Spunky bird

Spunky bird

Flying Witch is really one of my favorite anime out of the Spring season. It has all the things I’m fond of-slice of life, iyashikei and other small things, but one aspect I really like is it’s treatment of animals.

Smug Cat aka Chito-san

Smug Cat aka Chito-san

I’m not going to lie and claim that Flying Witch is the only one show that accomplished this (I seem to recall Gin no Saji being pretty good in this regard too), but nonetheless Flying Witch is just damn good at showing us that the animals have their own lives-they have their own color, they have their own personality; the animals have enough focus to show that they are their own characters, their own entity, which isn’t something I can confidently say for most other shows, where they just “have animals for the sake of having animals” and as a result, are more faded into the background.

A major portion of Episode 5 is silently told from Chito-san's perspective.

A major portion of Episode 5 is silently told from Chito-san’s perspective.

Episode 5 in particular, really shows what Flying Witch is really capable of with it’s animals. Nearly half of the episode is literally carried by Chito-san, Flying Witch’s resident black cat as the show took us on a little rural neighborhood adventure from his perspective. It’s also brilliant because during that segment, there’s hardly any dialogues or interactions. It’s truly slice of life in it’s purest form… cat-version.

[HorribleSubs] Flying Witch - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_04.49_[2016.06.27_11.12.59]

I have to applaud J.C. Staff for their stupendous work in Flying Witch too. I forgot just how good J.C. Staff can be when they want to. I mean, the last J.C. Staff show I remember watching was Prison School, and I didn’t care much for it’s visuals. J.C. Staff’s work in Flying Witch is really amazing though, but one thing I have the highest praise of is definitely the cinematography. Especially during some of the animal-centric scenes; the framing, composition and cuts all perfectly focus on the animal’s perspective-again, Episode 5 being the best example.

[HorribleSubs] Flying Witch - 08 [720p].mkv_snapshot_16.23_[2016.06.27_11.28.20]

J.C. Staff just seem have a good idea what the manga is trying to portray, and it’s treatment of animals is something the studio adapted perfectly. In fact, I don’t think this is the first time J.C. Staff accomplished this so well, I remember Azumanga Daioh was also pretty good with it’s treatment of animals. Unfortunately, that’s all I can recall from other anime because as you noticed, the works from J.C. Staff is just too diverse (again, this is coming from a studio who worked on a show like Prison School too).

Then again, they were also pretty good with tigers in Toradora, and dogs in Zero no Tsukaima… wait, what the hell am I saying?

[HorribleSubs] Flying Witch - 12 [720p].mkv_snapshot_09.04_[2016.06.27_11.20.07]

But anyway, the animals, and especially Chito-san are damn good. Chito-san especially is like the main protagonist of the animal side in the show. In fact, he is so quirky if someone asks me about my favorite character in the show, I would answer it’s Chito-san without a doubt. It applies for character to character; but a favorite character to me generally has to satisfy either two categories-personality or story, which is not something I can say for Flying Witch’s cast, because a cat ended up being quirky than most of the characters in it. That’s not to say it’s a bad thing though, Flying Witch is an iyashikei first and foremost, and iyashikei mostly appeals to people through it’s world rather than it’s characters. As a world-driven iyashikei, Flying Witch is truly top-notch, and it’s not like the characters are bad anyway — they are down-to-earth, and act like what real people would, which is already quite a positive aspect for a slice of life anime like this, just… they won’t be in any favorite character lists anytime soon.

I digress. Anyway, Flying Witch is a slice of life that did a lot of small things right, and one of those things is it’s treatment of animals. It’s good at showing us that the animals, not just the human characters, have a life of their own. The animals, even the completely fictional ones, really appear alive as a result, no thanks also to J.C. Staff’s incredible cinematography and animations.

[HorribleSubs] Flying Witch - 09 [720p].mkv_snapshot_04.56_[2016.06.27_11.01.34]

What do you think of Flying Witch?

This entry was posted by Kai.

8 thoughts on “Flying Witch and it’s Animals

  1. I roo locw mw aomw iyashikei shows and Flying Witch gave me much joy. The entire cast was wonderful (Personal highlights being Akane and Chinatsu, one of the best imouto EVAH!).

    You are right about the animals being important characters and their portrayals and treatment being excellent. Chito stole the show on some occasions. To me one of the most memorable moments is when we learned what sound a fox makes. BTW Chito’s a girl. Yeah I too was surprised by that.

    Here’s hoping Amanchu! will follow suit and give us yet another memorable iyashikei show for the record books.

    • I found it hilarious how they are so expectant of how the fox sounds, there’s even a slight pause before the fox just barks like a dog. The subs actually says “he” in the earlier episodes before changing into “she” later on, so I’m not sure :p It does looks like a “she” from how she’s acting though.

      Looks promising from what I have seen.

  2. I enjoyed this show. Their depictions of animals were pretty cool, especially Chito. However, the characters were too nice. Hardly any moments of conflict exist in the show. It created some unrealistic moments: who lets a bee remain on their finger after it’s bitten them? That really hurts, I say!

    • Yeah, that’s why even though I like the characters, I won’t exactly say they are good ones. They are just… there? Hardly any conflicts exist in these shows because they are focusing on minimizing drama, it does makes the characters appear just a bit shallow though.

  3. It seems you are fond of Chito-san (me too!), but do you see her in “another version” or not?

    In Facebook, There’s “Flying Witch Petit” clip, short anime for promoting main series. So I watched.

    I watched this 2 minutes anime and maximum kawaii 3D punches sent me flying & knockout like that from this overwhelming power, their cuteness are too much for me. That’s why, after I recovered (from injury), I did anime review for respecting their level SS cuteness.

    If you want to explore, you can see Petit via post link in my username.

    warning: please prepare your body & soul before proceed it.

  4. Pingback: Kai’s Favorite Anime of 2016 | deluscar

Leave a Reply

