Boku dake ga Inai Machi – Ambitious but Has Great Potential

Me every anime season.

Me every anime season.

Whenever a new anime season occurs, I mostly have no idea what kind of anime I’m looking at other than sequels from established series. I’m not an active manga, light novel or even visual novel reader, and don’t really follow their announcements that closely, so these anime titles are like alien words designated by a secret society. This is why I’m not sure what to say whenever people ask me “what are you watching this season?” because quite frankly, I just have no idea. I always rely on anitweeter’s responses and opinions to see which anime I want to watch after they are aired. You can argue and say “everyone’s opinion is shit though”, but by doing this, I can at least filter the massive amount of selection every season to just a selected few.

I digress. Anyway, one anime this Winter season in particular, Boku dake ga Inai Machi is one everyone in my twitter TL had been singing praises of, and while I’m slow, having finally started it, I can see why.

[HorribleSubs] Boku Dake ga Inai Machi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_03.20_[2016.01.15_12.00.35]

If anything, this anime has a lot of potential. Episode 1 especially started out great, the groundwork is carefully laid out-character introductory, especially with the protagonist-Satoru’s character, flaws, etc… are well done, then there’s the basis of the story, Satoru’s mysterious supernatural ability that allow him to time travel back to a moment just before an incident occurs. And the fact how the latest incident Satoru got himself involved in, found him time traveled back 18 years ago, possibly connecting to a serial murder case occurred at that time. In fact, Episode 1 ended right after that plot twist, of course whatever I mentioned here is already in the synopsis, but seeing how it all brilliantly plays out still really hooks you in.

[HorribleSubs] Boku Dake ga Inai Machi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_03.44_[2016.01.15_12.27.29]

Aforementioned, the groundwork had been meticulously laid out in the Episode 1. All the plot points-like Satoru’s “forgotten” memory and how the murder case 18 years ago seem to connect to the latest one, I assume the rest of the story will be filled with story and character development, foreshadowing and shedding more of the mysteries in this multi-layered murder in full throttle. Put time travel in the mix and this is really an overly-ambitious story, but nonetheless, judging from we had seen from the two episodes currently aired (at the time of this post), it definitely has great potential. I honestly don’t want to set my expectations too high, but I’m really sensing an overbearingly gripping tale once the story starts picking up. It seems the manga’s author, Kei Sanbe, really know what’s he’s doing, and combined that with a stellar production value in the adaption…

Notice how bright red Kayo's outfit is compared to the rest of the colors in this scene, it's a nice visual trick that casually focuses viewer's eyes on the "subject", signifying the character's importance in the story.

Notice how bright red Kayo’s outfit is compared to the rest of the colors in this scene, it’s a nice visual trick that casually focuses viewer’s eyes on the “subject”, signifying the character’s importance in the story. The anime is full of “visual cues” like this.

I mean, you have esteemed anime music composer, Kajiura Yuki doing the OSTs for the show, who’s known for composing OSTs for anime like Unlimited Blade Works, Fate/Zero, Kara no Kyoukai and Madoka, her works always has a larger-than-life feel to it, fitting BokuMachi perfectly. Last but not least, with the proficient visual design and an unique voice acting cast, I literally have no complains on the technical side of BokuMachi as well.

[HorribleSubs] Boku Dake ga Inai Machi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.15_[2016.01.15_12.22.50]

I may be a sucker for time-travel stories, but this one sounds like it’s going to be an extremely good one even among it’s peers. If you watched it, what do you think of it so far?

This entry was posted by Kai.

13 thoughts on “Boku dake ga Inai Machi – Ambitious but Has Great Potential

  1. “Me every anime season.”
    You wonder every season how far you got in Dragon Quest III? xD

    In one of the rarer occasions of my anime viewing, I actually went into BokuMachi already a fan of the manga. I picked it up on a whim because I wasn’t reading anything else at the time, and it had relatively fewer chapters than more popular titles of the same genre. It’s amazing how fast the popularity of this skyrocketed in just two weeks, when it was pretty much went unknown for some time (which is a good thing – that means the scanlations are gonna start picking-up the pace, lol)

    The pacing is looking to be very solid (from what we’ve seen so far at least), that much I’m willing tell. On the technical side, everything – from the sound (didn’t know until now that Kajiura was involved, awesome!) and visuals, to the seiyuu choices (a lesser known cast than I’m used, with the excepion of Yuuki Aoi), feel like it came together quite well – the benefits of being on the noitaminA block I suppose.

    • Oh come on, you get my joke D:

      I never read the manga, in fact, I watched most anime not knowing about their original sources, lol. Yeah, I guess in the end, anime is still quite frankly the most accessible medium ever, lol. Steins;Gate, despite being quite new at the time, even turned into an all-time favorite for most after the anime adaption, and most of them probably don’t even play the VN.

      Yeah, pacing. Not sure how I missed typing this word throughout my post, lol. Indeed solid pacing from the 2 episodes we had seen. About Kajiura, I think I heard some violin/strings in the background which I thought totally sounded familiar, and when I saw her name in MAL, I was like “Oh, you!” xD

      • lol, yeah. I of all people should get that xD

        I usually do too; more so nowadays really. Anime watching takes a bit less effort as well, and relatively less time consuming also. Yeah, I was one of the guys who played the VN after the anime ended – which kinda took away from the experience of it really. A tough balance to maintain, I guess.

        They played around a bit with the sequence of events (omitting minor stuff, streamlining nearly everything), so I couldn’t help but notice. Ahh, I gotta go back in listen a bit harder then. I always associate Kajiura with large scale fantasy stuff, so seeing her work in a psychological thriller kinda thing feels very refreshing.

        • I would say reading manga actually takes the least effort, but just like any media with minimal production values, it’s hard for it to remain on my mind after a long hiatus from it, lol. To tell you the truth, I’m one of them too, in fact, I think the translation is only completed -after- the anime finished, so the situation is a lot like what you mentioned of BokuMachi’s scanlations.

          Oh, that explains it, lol. Madoka is kinda like a psychological thriller too :p Although it has more aspects of it rather than just that.

  2. I’m very intrigued by the first episode but thought this series is great to marathon with and not watch on weekly basis so I’m currently putting this on hold, waiting til it finishes airing before continuing.

    But yes, I agree that it’s best not to set expectations high. I did that once with some other anime series and got very disappointed in the end.

    • I think nowadays I just seem to prefer weekly viewing more, honestly just less hectic to watch. Totally different from what I said a long time ago for sure, lol. The only type of shows I would marathon are shounen.

      Yeah, I’ll try not to for this anime, but still can’t help but hype for this though, because it’s just so solid from what I had watched, and considering the story is actually treating it’s plot and characters with respect, I honestly don’t think there are much for me to worry about.

  3. At first I thought this anime is going to be annoying because all the quick flashback. Replaying the last 10 seconds is a good way to save some budget. But the ending in episode 1 proves me wrong.

  4. one of my favorite this season, did’t read the manga, and can’t wait for the next episode. By the way, there will be live-action for this anime, the cast looks promising

    • So many anime has had live-action that I’m not thoroughly surprised to be honest, and this show is more on the serious side too so I think it would at least be easily transitional.

  5. i didn’t know the music composing was done by kajuira. no wonder it was well done.
    and by the way, the voice actor for satoru is the same one who did akatsuki kojou from strike the blood. his voice here sounds completely different as he’s trying to make it more realistic.

Leave a Reply

