Anime Crossovers and Fairy Tail X Rave

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_20.59_[2013.09.01_13.09

Anime crossovers – the act of combining two (or maybe more) anime shows together in an episode. Crossovers is a great way for showcasing the interactivity of two different worlds, and the interpersonal relationship between characters from each respective worlds. It’s incredibly fun to have your favorite characters entering an unknown world – a world with a totally different format and rules, and forced to align himself to the properties of the new world.

[HorribleSubs] Gintama - 227 [720p].mkv_snapshot_08.16_[2013.10.21_21.03.31]

However, from the very few anime crossovers that I had watched, I mostly have pretty mixed feelings about them. Why?

The catch here is that if you were to line up two anime hand-in-hand, one can’t help but compare. This is my main issue when watching the Gintama X Sket Dance episodes. While the Sket Dance group is an incredibly fun bunch, I tend to find the boisterous Yorozuya from Gintama much more exhilarating, thrilling and exciting – you never knew when they would present a bizarre, unpredicted joke out of nowhere. The frank verdict here is that I like the Gintama characters more than Sket Dance characters, even though the characters of the latter aren’t too sloppy either. However, the lack of balance in character appeal here slightly degrade the quality of the crossover, as my attention was mostly focused on the Gintama cast rather than Sket Dance’s.

Toriko/OP

The other issue here is a bit more simple. Even if the crossovers combined two popular shows, it doesn’t really mean everyone had watched and kept up with them. Gintama aside, a lot of my friends here never really watched Sket Dance. Though my problem lies elsewhere – One Piece X Toriko. While I like One Piece, I never watched nor read Toriko (think I should probably start soon). In this case, personal preference and the lack of balance in appeal comes into play as well.

The positive side to all these however, is that the crossovers help advertise each other, and I assume it’s pretty much the main goal. Using the previous example, One Piece X Toriko – it helps to advertise Toriko, the underdog of the pairing; those who had never heard of Toriko, or those who had heard of it, but had never checked it out, might finally be interested after seeing them paired up with their favorite titles.

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_03.34_[2013.10.21_21.39.13]

As you can see, I regard an equal balance of appeal from both shows a crucial consideration to take into account. Perhaps this is why I really, really like Fairy Tail X Rave – probably my favorite anime crossovers so far from the very little I had came across. This time, I adore both series. Fairy Tail, while maintaining a typical shounen format, is still a pretty fun show – brimming with burning (see what I did there?) actions and fascinating music soundtracks. I don’t think I ever mentioned this before, but Rave is also one of my favorite manga. I first came across Rave on AXN – a TV channel which aired a few anime shows back then. It easily became one of my favorite anime shows too at that time, though the unfinished ending leave a lot to be desired, and thus, I turned to Rave’s manga.

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_09.06_[2013.10.21_22.23.41]

Since a new season for Rave after all these years seem unlikely, it was great to see the Rave cast back again, together with their original seiyuu. The bunch from Fairy Tail is just as fun and rowdy, and the Rave characters are just as audacious – both characters from respective shows had extremely great chemistry with each other. Furthermore, Fairy Tail and Rave really works as a crossover, they have a lot of elements synonymous with each other – magic, Etherion, Oracon Seis and characters like Plue, Jellal/Sieghart and Jiggle Butt Gang emerging in both shows.

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_11.30_[2013.10.21_21.49.57]

The crossover started with a Fairy Tail OP, and the characters from Fairy Tail meeting the Rave characters in a town, the former on guild business while the latter probably in the middle of their travels. The mentioning of Haru (Spring) from Rave and Natsu (Summer) from Fairy Tail and their seasonal reference of their names during their conversation is nice, since it’s an interesting discovery I found out when comparing their names.

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_12.07_[2013.10.21_21.47.57]

Peaceful conversations don’t last of cause, and chaos immediately ensures due to some misunderstanding. Locked in combat, Haru and Natsu started rampaging around the town with their battle, though their bout didn’t last long however, as the two got humorously one-shotted by a certain someone from Fairy Tail.

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_21.06_[2013.10.21_22.02.10]

Haru: You’re the type to save anyone faster than anybody else, right?
Haru: Hot-blooded types.
Natsu: And likewise, so you are, right?
Haru: Maybe it’s our fate to fight alongside after all…
Natsu: Plus we will not lose to anybody.

Interestingly, the anime added a lot of original material from here onwards not inclusive in the manga, and they did good. They introduced an enemy, which appeared in one of Fairy Tail’s filler arcs – Jackpot, albeit in a sort of modified form in this crossover. With the same goals and objectives insight, both the Fairy Tail and Rave groups worked together to defeat their common enemy, and throughout the fights, Fairy Tail’s signature celtic rock soundtracks were constantly blasting in the background. Not forgetting to have some attention for Rave too however, during the last section of the battle with Jackpot, Natsu and Haru fought together, with Rave’s opening serving as the background music – nothing but spectacular.

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_25.29_[2013.10.21_22.11.27]FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_25.32_[2013.10.21_22.11.34]

During their departure, unlike the manga, which ended with the characters mostly either feeling neutral (since a majority of them didn’t meet with each other) or frustrated (mostly in Natsu and Haru’s case) with the other’s group. The anime ended with a more positive note, as they fought together – bonds are formed. Both the characters from both shows look forward to meeting each other again, and obviously, I too, hope they will, manifesting the possibility of future Fairy Tail X Rave sequels.

FAIRY TAIL x RAVE (480p).mkv_snapshot_22.25_[2013.10.17_00.06

(*´▽`*)

(*´▽`*)

While official crossover episodes like these are still uncommon, I do hope there are more of these as time goes on, which seems likely. Despite my rants, crossovers are indeed amusing to watch. No doubt, I’m sure there will be more crossovers like these soon, but for now, Fairy Tail X Rave is indefinitely my favorite anime crossover for now.

This entry was posted by Kai.

10 thoughts on “Anime Crossovers and Fairy Tail X Rave

  1. While I haven’t seen any of the crossovers you’ve mentioned (I feel like I say that sort of thing a lot >.<), crossovers themselves are something I really enjoy. Having two groups of characters that you really like meeting each other is an amazing experience that, if it's done well, can get you excited like nothing else.

    The only anime crossover i've seen was Carnival Phantasm, which I think I mentioned to you a while ago. While the Fate/Stay Night characters were a lot more entertaining for me than the Tsukihime characters I still really enjoyed the show (even if a good number of the jokes weren't my sort of thing). Just being able to see the Fate/Stay Night cast of normally very serious characters kicking back and having fun was really enjoyable.

    On another note, I actually have both Gintama and Fairy Tail now, so once i've psyched myself up for some ridiculously long series i'm going to lay into them ^_^

    • In the end, I too find crossovers amusing, despite my rants ;p

      I like Carnival Phantasm too, though there are a number of characters which I’m not too familiar with Miyako or Sion since I didn’t play Melty Blood. I too, like the Fate/Stay Night cast more :D If I like the Tsukihime group just as much, perhaps I would like Carnival Phantasm even more, but Tsukihime characters are already great though ;p Some of the jokes aren’t my thing either, but he most memorable one for me was the harem joke, kinda fun how they take the visual novel joke and choose the “all-heroine” route.. xD

      I would recommend Gintama – the most awesome comedy anime ever xD (subjective.. though)

  2. I hate, hate, hate crossovers in any form. That’s mainly because I get addicted to them too easily. So yeah, I hate them irrationally because I succumb to them with ease!!!

    BTW, this talk about crossovers reminds me of a post I wrote on another blog back in the early days of blogging haha (hmm…I may want to re-post this on my blog…in fact I might haha I blame you for that!)

  3. Gintama and SKET Dance’s crossover was hilarious (Gintama’s side of the crossover), they’re unbalanced but that made it even better, with the SKET Dan saying things like how SKET Dance is supposed to be a clean show and so Gintama’s jokes are too dirty and it was heaps funny seeing how many voice actors were shared between the two series, like Himeko sharing the same voice actress as Jugem Jugem Shit-Tossing the Life of Shin-Chan’s Two-Day-Old Underwear Balmung Fezalion Isaac Schneider 1/3 True Love 2/3 Hangnail Anxiety Betrayal Knows My Name Or Does It Really Ignore Calls Squid Dogfish Halibut Trout-Cod Dogfish This Is A Different Dogfish, I’m Talking About The Dogfish Shark Kaluga Ray Yuuteimiyaoukimukou pepepepepepepepepepepepe Runny Diarrhea and the fact that they purposely gave the same voice actress just to use that joke xD

    • Yea, Sket Dance’s side of the crossover does seem underwhelming compared to Gintama. I do like how they’re pretty much self-aware mentioning that Sket Dance is supposed to be a clean show whereas Gintama pulling off dirty jokes like no other, lol. It was also kinda fun to see the “same voice actor” jokes in both crossovers, lol, but more fun with Gintoki pulling out all the stops to crush them :p

Leave a Reply

