Rinne No Lagrange And The Linguistics Of Chairs

If you had finished watching Rinne no Lagrange or is halfway through with it, you will most probably notice Rinne no Lagrange’s unique and symbolic presentation, using a medium known as chair. The green chair represents Kyouno Madoka, the blue chair represents Lan and the orange chair represents Muginami. Using chairs as impersonation of the characters or the Vox, thousands of surreal symbolism manifest.

The visual presentation of the chairs can be interpreted in a lot of ways. For example, in this screenshot, the green and blue chairs are seen facing towards the orange chair and likewise, the orange chair is facing towards them. This is easily interpreted that Muginami is still somewhere far away but she is about to meet Lan and Madoka soon. Likewise in here, the flipped orange chair probably means that Muginami was undergoing some kind of depression. Anyway, you can check out this post by Kuro for more examples.

While the concept behind the symbolism is certainly unique, the real question is, why chair?

According to wiki, chairs in the past, are a symbol of authority, dignity and even royalty, and it was only until much later that chairs became ordinary household goods. Only an individual with the highest authority like kings, princes and other royal members are allowed to sit on a chair. The size and height of the chair, also contributed to the individual level of power; the higher rank an individual possessed, the more taller the chair is.

“The giant green demon will rip the heavens,
The giant blue demon will devour the stars,
The giant orange demon will spew out darkness.
Through countless sacrifices,
They will rule the land”

In Rinne No Lagrange, the usage of chairs in representation of Madoka, Lan and Muginami prove that the three, who possessed Memoria, are in a league of their own. They are very adaptable in using the Vox, and can fight on very demanding levels, especially if the three are supporting each other. The fact that both Lan and Muginami are both people from 20,000 years ago makes the usage of chairs even more so fitting.

Also, the usage of simple wooden chairs instead of something fancy corresponded to the simplicity of the girls. While Lan and Muginami was slightly fighting with each other throughout the series, they deserve peace more so then ever. With Madoka’s meddling, the girls chose the most insanely simple way out of the war fought by Le Garite and De Metrio: making Lan and Muginami’s brothers come to terms with each other, who are kings or leaders of their own respective planets.

I find it interesting how even though chairs measured an individual’s power and authority in reality, Rinne no Lagrange took it up a notch and personified these chairs as our three favorite main characters. Indeed, if examined carefully, chairs are certainly something more then just an object we put our bottoms on, and Rinne no Lagrange is here to teach us that, depicting the depth and grandiosity of these chairs.

This entry was posted by Kai.

9 thoughts on “Rinne No Lagrange And The Linguistics Of Chairs

  1. Here in the US it’s not nearly as common as it used to be, but in the not so recent past (relative to me, at any rate) family seating at a table was formalized for many families – the father always had his spot, and his chair was “different” from the others. Formal dinning tables still occasionally come with distinct chair styles for “head” and “others”.

    This custom probably started to decline after the start of the 20th century, and probably isn’t carried on for the vast majority of people born after the 1950s. My father’s parents’ formal table had 1 chair with arms and 5 without. My parent’s table never had distinct chairs, but my father ALWAYS sat in the same place. For me, it matters not at all where I sit relative to my son at the table. These days habit may predispose one to always sit at the same spot at the table, but most likely not formality.

    • That’s one of the interesting things, I don’t think we ever experienced such formalities here in Brunei. Even when we dine with my grandfather, we never use any kind of “special” chairs and I don’t think I heard such stories from my father either. This I guess, indicates that the father is the master of the household, but funny thing is in my house, my mother seems to have more “power” then anyone else, and she sometimes even “bully” my father. It’s ironic, though hilarious.

      I think sitting at the same place at the dining table is another thing altogether. I always sit at the same seat in our dining table too, and likewise with all of my family members. I don’t think we ever think too deep about this either.

  2. Well, this certainly gives bloggers something to discuss. I didn’t care to be honest. The chairs were positioned in certain ways to reflect the mood of the three female lovers…and that’s it. Sometimes there’s only Madoka’s chair, other times it’s blue and green but the green chair (as far as I can remember) is always in the center, signifying how gloriously gay Lan and Muginami are for Madoka, with good reasons.

    That’s all I’ve got on this subject matter. Symbolism isn’t much of a defining factor for me to pick up or keep watching a show anyway. My usual answer when it comes to symbolic images is “If you want to use symbolic imagery, make sure they make sense to those who want to research them”.

    • I used to ignore them but sometimes I find it fun when I can freely interpret the said symbolisms and attempt to understand the meaning behind it. Indeed, the chairs are a reflection of the girl’s mood. That’s a funny point, but oddly true. Her chair always being at the center can also mean that she is the most “leader” of the group and is straightforward, but that’s a discussion for another day. We will use your hilarious definition for now.

      Thanks for your input xD

      Once again, symbolism aren’t something major for me which decides whether an anime is good or bad, I just find it fun to investigate these bizarre and vague messages. Though I would say in comparisons, Rinne no Lagrange’s symbolism aren’t even half as weird or bizarre as some others.

  3. Think you given the best explanation (along with Kuro) regarding the chairs. I knew initially it had something to do with the Vox and main characters, but did not think of it in those terms. However, when you mention the “simple” aspect, I also think that is in reference to a Zen aesthetic (I forget the name of it…one that represents complexity in simplicity). Actually, the whole issue throughout the story seems complex, but solved by a every simple answer as you stated.

    Quick question: Are their any apparent differences between the chairs themselves? I can’t tell…that or their might not be any (expect that Muginami’s is a little taller).

    • I’m sure once looked hard enough, they will be able to look at these with a slightly different, yet convinving perspectives. Ohh, that Zen philosophy thingy, I remembered Snippettee touched upon this on Tari Tari too. Anyway, it’s an interesting subject.

      I guess one obvious difference is that their designs are different? lol. I guess that IS different. I don’t think I ever noticed the height differences though.

  4. Ah the chairs, that’s really interesting and creative.

    I don’t think that the chairs should be seen as a symbol of authority or something like that.
    In this anime, the chairs rather portray parts of the girls personalities and the relationship between them.

    As members of the Jersey club, they sharing the same spirit while having completely different personalities.

    The green folding chair shows Madoka’s flexibility, her ability to easily adapt to new sitiuations.
    The orange one has many round pieces, it rather looks like a chair for children so it seems to be related to Muginami’s childish and fun personality. I have problems with figuring out the meaning of the straight design of the blue chair, maybe it has to do with her title as a princes, Lan always tries to be demure and sincere I don’t really know.

    • Indeed, but they did have similar elements comparable to real life. I do agree that the anime is more on the reflection of the girl’s personalities rather then power or authority.

      I think you made the right analysis of the green and orange chair. As for the blue chair, I think it’s easy enough, the three vertical bars of the chairs represent pride and perhaps stubbornness, a trait fitting for a princess^^ Her shyness shows that she wants to have fun even if she’s a princess.

  5. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas: Maru! – Day III « deluscar

Leave a comment